Wednesday, 24 June 2015

The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World - Call for Nominations

The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World

Deadline for Nominations: 31 July

A total of five Awards are given annually to five young women scientists, one from each of five regions in the developing world (see below). Launched in 2012 by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD, the Awards reward and encourage women working and living in developing countries in the early stages of their scientific careers. Awardees must have made a demonstrable impact on the research environment both at a regional and international level and have often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence.

The award has an important impact on local research cultures since the awardees are powerful role models for young women in each of the five regions who might be embarking on scientific careers, or indeed contemplating whether to remain in an environment that is often hostile to their needs and experience.

Subject areas will be:
  • 2015 - Biological Sciences: agriculture, biology, medicine;
  • 2016 - Engineering Sciences: engineering, innovation, technology;
  • 2017 - Physical Sciences: chemistry, maths, physics.

Each winner will receive a cash prize of USD 5,000 and an all-expenses-paid trip to a city in the USA to attend the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting. Lasting 5 days, the event is packed with networking opportunities. The winners will receive their award at a special ceremony, as well as invitations to mentoring and science communication workshops, a visit to a local laboratory, and a celebratory dinner.


The nominee must be a female scientist; have received her PhD within the previous 10 years; and have lived and worked in one of the following developing countries during the three years immediately prior to the nomination:
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Belize, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname.
  • East and South-East Asia and the Pacific: Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Korea DPR, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam.
  • Arab region: Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Mauritania, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen.
  • Central and South Asia: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
  • Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Nomination form available on:

About OWSD
The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) is an international organization affiliated with TWAS (see below) and based in Trieste, Italy. Headed by eminent women scientists from the South, OWSD has more than 4,000 members. The Organization's central role is to promote women's access to science and technology, enhancing their greater involvement in decision-making processes for the development of their countries and in the international scientific community. Created in 1989, OWSD works to bridge the gender gap in science and technology and uses its forum to promote leadership, exchanges and networking for women scientists. ( )

About TWAS
The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries - TWAS - works to advance sustainable prosperity through research, education, policy and diplomacy. TWAS was founded in 1983 by a distinguished group of scientists from the developing world, under the leadership of Abdus Salam, the Pakistani physicist and Nobel Prize winner. Today, TWAS has some 1,150 elected Fellows from 90 countries; 15 of them are Nobel laureates. The Academy is based in Trieste, Italy, on the campus of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP). Since 1983, its mission has focused on supporting and promoting excellence in scientific research in the developing world and applying scientific and engineering research to address global challenges. TWAS receives core funding from the Government of Italy. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) administers TWAS funds and personnel.


  1. Awardees must have made a demonstrable impact on the research environment both at a regional and international level and have often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence. my homepage

  2. There are a lot of countries which have been missed out of the list even and even the women are more empowered in those countries so when I see this site I did not recognize it was made by a real professional either.

  3. Please provide me the list as I am interesting in giving votes to the ladies as they are the real proud of our nation and if they see page so they must understand that their work is really paying the nation.

  4. We all need to fund science more because we are entering in the new era and this funding can find more information to provide help to the students of our nation.

  5. I highly recommend you give people a variety when i i'm helpful around allowing ballots to your women of all ages as they quite simply could be the serious likes to show off all of our usa just in case people find more info to make sure they will have to understand or know that its deliver the results really is forking out the continent.

  6. That i will be practical approximately providing ballots towards your most women of the grows older as they definitely to put it simply is a major likes to present all of our north america just in case consumers get my blog facts to guarantee these is going to know or simply recognize that a succeed in fact is forking released any country.