Friday, 22 May 2015

CARTA co-Director, Prof. Sharon Fonn, is a finalist for the National Science and Technology Forum 2014/2015 Awards

Prof. Sharon Fonn, CARTA co-Director, has been nominated as a finalist for the NSTF-BHP Billiton Awards 2014/2015. Prof. Fonn has been nominated in recognition of the work that she has been doing with the Consortium for Advanced Research Training in Africa (CARTA).

She is a finalist for the “Research Capacity Development” category that recognizes individuals and institutions that have done a brilliant work in this sector.
Prof. Fonn has been nominated by the Head School of Public Health at the University of Witwatersrand to appreciate the work that CARTA has done for the institution and the republic of South Africa as a whole. 

“I am pleased to see that CARTA has been recognized in the capacity building category. This is quite a competitive award and there were very many nominees – so even if CARTA is not the ultimate awardee even making the finalist category is a significant achievement,” said Prof. Fonn, when she learnt of the announcement of the finalists.

The highly-acclaimed National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards, hosted in partnership with BHP Billiton since 2011, is the flagship project of the largest and most represented multi-stakeholder non-profit forum in South Africa promoting science and technology through collaborative effort.  

The National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) is the most representative and long-standing non-profit body of Science, Engineering, Technology and Innovation (SETI) stakeholders in South Africa with the following strategic objectives that promote science and technology collaboratively as follows:

  • Influence the development and implementation of public SETI policies 
  • Celebrate, recognize and reward excellence within the SETI sectors 
  • Contribute towards the renewal of SETI systems through youth interventions 
All finalists to this award will get a certificate form the Minister of Science and Technology and the winner in each category will be announced on the 9th of July 2015.

Congratulations to Prof. Fonn for making to the final list of nominees for this prestigious award.

1 comment: